To protect the health and safety of the public during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, City Hall and other facilities are closed to the public until further notice. The City continues to provide services during this time and recommends using technological alternatives where possible. For more information related to City services during this emergency, please visit the Coronavirus (COVID-19) page or call the City at (310) 802-5000.


Richard Montgomery Cropped


  Richard Montgomery
  Mayoral Term:
March 3, 2020 - December 1, 2020 
Term Expires: December 2020

suzanne Website Picture Cropped

Mayor Pro Tem

Suzanne Hadley
Expected Mayoral Term:
December 1, 2020 - September 7, 2021 
Term Expires: November 2022

Hildy Website Picture Cropped

City Councilmember

Hildy Stern
Expected Mayoral Term: 
September 7, 2021- June 7, 2022
Term Expires: November 2022

Steve Napolitano Cropped

City Councilmember

Steve Napolitano

Term Expires: December 2020

Nancy Hersman Cropped
 City Councilmember

Nancy Hersman
Term Expires: December 2020


eComment is a convenient way to participate in the democratic process by  providing an opportunity to comment on the City Council Agenda without being present at the City Council Meeting. All comments are consolidated into a report and delivered to the City Council prior to the City Council Meeting. eComment is available for posted future City Council Agenda Meetings under the Upcoming Events section of City Council Meetings and Agendas page. Comments and information will become part of the official public record.  

Manhattan Beach, a General Law City, has a five-member City Council, elected at large to formulate policy for the city. Each member serves a nine (9) month mayoral position during their four (4) year term.

City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of every month at 6:00 PM in Council Chambers located in City Hall at 1400 Highland Avenue. Public participation and input is encouraged. Meetings are subject to change in the event of a National/State holiday or Election falling on a first or third Tuesday, please check the City Calendar to note any changes or contact the City Clerks office at (310) 802-5056.